Neighbors

A few nights ago, one of my housemates, her boy, and I were going to investigate some free couches around our neighborhood. We were walking across the street to the car, when we were approached by a slightly crazed drunk woman who typically roams our streets asking for change. She came up to me and said something along the lines of’ ‘Excuse me sir, I mean ma’am, i mean… can I buy some cigarettes from you?’ I said i didn’t have any, so we started walking away, and then  she starts yelling ‘Wait a minute! I wanna ask you somethin’! Are you a guy or are you a girl? I just wanna know what you are! Bitch don’t walk away from me! I’ll show you my titties! (at which point she’s slightly undressing herself in an aggressive manner.. to compare? I don’t know why)’ but then she runs up to me and is like ‘I really just wanna know’ and then she totally felt me up. Ran her hands all over my chest and then kinda groped my crotch… which, you know, was unnecessary. She was still confused. I froze. I mean, normal people would have stopped her, but I couldn’t do anything else but stand there. It was a deer-in-headlights response. So then I was like WTF YOU JUST FELT ME UP! and got in the car. She started yelling stuff that none of us could understand.. something about drugs, I think, so we drove away and got some really cool junk. No couch, but that’s ok.

I’ve gotten a lot of mixed reactions from this story, mostly along the lines of that’s-so-fucked-up-why-didn’t-you-kick-her-in-the-shins-and-run-away. A large part of me is wondering why I didn’t react. Another part of me is realizing how detached I am from my body. Probably not a good sign.
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Neighbors

  1. I hate that, when I freeze in the moment and think about what I could have done later. And honestly, response to drunken, public, belligerent groping is not one of the scenarios I normally think I’ll need to prepare myself for, I mean, why should we? Obviously she wasn’t in her right mind, maybe she doesn’t have a right mind to be in.

    At any rate, I’m not sure I’d have done any better in that situation.. don’t be too hard on yourself.

  2. M

    you can report her for sexual assault

Leave a Reply

